Natural movement. Integral movement.
Your movement

RIVERS helps you to find, develop and sustain your natural movement and your integral movement

Natural movement is the functional movement that is embedded in your body. Integral movement is the quality when the whole person, and not just the body, moves as one.


Natural movement includes primary, evolutionarily grown forms of movement such as standing, walking, running, throwing and carrying. We also include our individual movement development: lying, rolling, standing up, squatting, crawling, hopping, jumping and landing, and so on. Natural movement provides stability, agility, flexibility, elasticity, mobility and fluidity. It allows you to move effortlessly and continuously, developing strength, power and endurance.


Integral movement is your wholeness moving, flowing and growing like a river. It is here where the social and cultural development of movement is reflected: on the one hand in expression, in gesture, in dance; on the other hand from play to fight to martial arts. Movement, sensation, state of being and interpretation form a differentiable but inseparable whole. Integral movement dissolves the apparent separations or reductions of body and mind and lets you experience how integral you are.

Köbi-Dynamik

Köbi-Dynamik

Natural movement Natural movement unfolds through expansion and contraction, or more precisely, through a process of centering, opening, expanding, blending and integrating. We call this process the COEBI-dynamics.


Cultivation Dynamics

Integral movement is cultivated through perception, through a process of observing and feeling, differentiating and integrating, and subtilizing and essentializing. We call this the cultivation dynamic.

Both dynamics unite as a whole without hierarchy. We call it Integraldynamics (see also the book). The bigger piece of the pie? Integration, since it appears in both dynamics.


Cultivation Dynamics

Integration

at all levels

Natural movement unfolds the functionality of your body and your movements. Integral movement unfolds the meaning of your beingness and the meaning of your life.

Both movements connect. Natural Movement connects the different parts of your body into a strong structure and powerful movement. Integral Movement combines all aspects of your being into a coherent process that connects with others and the world.


PLAY
PLAY

We work in four quadrants

RIVERS RIDDLES
Movement puzzles for neuroplasticity and phenotypic plasticity (the capacity of the brain and the body to be shaped)

RIVERS BASE
Short movement sequences and flows with a specific effect on body and perception

RHYTHM
In addition to the Köbi and cultivation dynamics, we work with other dynamics. More about this in the Book of Movement

PLAY
Partner settings, learning fields and impulses for the promotion of structured spontaneity and diversity in movement

Not yet enough?

What distinguishes RIVERS from other contemporary movement methods?

RIVERS has evolved out of more than thirty years of experience. This is one of the differences between RIVERS and many short-lived methods and trends.
What sets RIVERS apart from other serious methods is its methodology. We work with the ten verbs of Köbi and cultivational dynamics. These give us and all RIVERS movers an extremely clear framework as well as maximum freedom for individual movement exploration and development.
Because movement in a non-specialized field can either quickly become arbitrary and one doesn't stop far from the beginner level, or one specializes again, even if unnoticed.

Nobody offers a universal range, even if it is sold as such. Because one always comes from a particular perspective. No matter how comprehensive it is, it is a perspective, a positioning, a background. It is not possible to teach "pure movement". It is always a selection, a style. As in any method, the selection is made by a specific question in a specific context for a specific context. This is why we distinguish between methodology and method. The methodology is Integraldynamics and is simply described by ten verbs: to center, to open, to expand, to blend, to integrate, to observe, to feel, to differentiate, to subtilise, to essentialise. Since Integraldynamics describes a dynamical process but does not impose a specific form and content, it can be expressed in different ways anytime and anywhere (even beyond the practice of movement). This is the advantage. The disadvantage is that it does not offer concrete forms and contents. It thus puts a challenge on those who do not yet have a movement repertoire and techniques.
This is where RIVERS comes into play, the method which provides the most intelligent impulses in various forms (movement sequences, flows, learning fields, etc.) in order to develop skills and build up a repertoire. RIVERS is clearly a child of its time, based on cutting edge research as well as the personal movement background, movement- and body-types of Martin and Katrin. As broad as these are, they are still a selection. Even though we are always working towards finding and cultivating each individual's own movement and using open learning fields to do so, we also have to work with movements that we provide in order to broaden the range of movements or to cultivate certain aspects in a targeted way. This is done in the trinity imitate - integrate - innovate, which is described in Integraldynamics (see the book Integraldynamics).
RIVERS is both valid in itself and a guide to Integraldynamics, and while the latter could be called "universal", which we do not, we are realistic enough not to claim to offer "pure movement". This is why RIVERS is called RIVERS (and we sometimes playfully call practitioners RIVERS) and not just "movement". This realism is also a difference to certain other movement methods.

Complex systems such as movement require a true simplicity in the approach which does not simplify, reduce or falsify, but which fully unfolds this complexity. This is what the ten verbs and their families of verbs offer us (see the Book of Movement and Integraldynamics).
We also claim to be on the cutting edge. We remain open and differentiate. We keep up to date with research and incorporate relevant results.

RIVERS and traditional movement paths
RIVERS Mab

RIVERS is indeed a next generation of movement practice. For the following reasons:

We become what we practice. Scientists at the Max Planck Institute have demonstrated this in research. Our neuroplasticity (and phenotypic plasticity) is shaped by practice. Our practice forms us. Limited methods may build new neuroplastic pathways and forms, but only to a limited extent. The more versatile the method, the more versatile, interconnected, agile humans we become. RIVERS is undoubtedly one of the most comprehensive movement methods of all.

Traditional practices specialize, modern practices also specialize. RIVERS eliminates specialization (but not the differentiations of specialization). This removes arbitrary restrictions on our movements. The focus is not on specialization and reduction, but on widening and varying. To ensure that this does not become random and that an optimal structure for practice is guaranteed, a clear, well-founded concept is needed that is up to date. A differentiated system that promotes differentiation. That is RIVERS.

Specialized methods are only valid in themselves. Traditions are burdened. They have evolved based on philosophies and consciousness structures and have been additionally blurred or complicated by the millennia. Traditions are widely masculine and based on a dualistic world view. Even when they try to overcome these dualisms, they do so more or less evidently by reducing them to one. (Monism. Even the scientific search for a world formula is an expression of the same monism). RIVERS is light. RIVERS has no metaphysical system. However, the methodology has clear structures that allow the experience and interpretation of something more comprehensive.
As a child of our time, RIVERS springs directly from an integral consciousness. In contrast, traditions have their roots in archaic, magical, mythical structures of consciousness (and partly still function in this way, or no longer function on this very basis, which is not renewed). Integral consciousness is characterized by the fact that it sees and promotes the interconnectedness of things without having to level these things to a common ground (as the pluralism of postmodernism does). In this consciousness, contradictions are not conflicts, but rather release the potential for growth.

Part of the dualistic world view is the separation of body and mind. RIVERS overcomes this separation by experiencing the components as parts of the whole, which cannot be reduced to anything. In other words, we experience body and mind as different forms of the same thing when viewed from different perspectives. Although RIVERS is a movement method, it is also a training of perception. The dualism that has shaped the last 2500 years is being eliminated by a new form of experiential possibilities and transferred into a new way of knowledge.

The modern world view includes the separation of art and therapy, play and spirituality, recreation and the world. For a shaman of the old times, art and therapy were not yet separated. Her holistic method was not divided into two methods. RIVERS removes separations between art and way, inside and outside, therapy and creativity. Because these restrictions are not inherent in the movement itself. They are not embedded in people but in external systems.

Natürliche Bewegung. Integrale Bewegung.
Deine Bewegung

RIVERS hilft dir, deine natürliche Bewegung und deine integrale Bewegung zu finden, zu entwickeln und zu erhalten

Natürliche Bewegung ist die funktionelle Bewegung, die in deinen Körper eingebettet ist. Integrale Bewegung ist die Qualität, wenn sich der ganze Mensch, und nicht nur der Körper, als Einheit bewegt.


Natürliche Bewegung beinhaltet primäre, evolutionär gewachsene Bewegungsformen wie stehen, gehen, rennen, werfen und tragen. Unsere individuelle Bewegungs-Entwicklung beziehen wir ebenso ein: liegen, rollen, aufrichten, hocken, kriechen, hüpfen, springen und landen und so weiter. Natürliche Bewegung umfasst Stabilität, Agilität, Flexibilität, Elastizität, Mobilität und Fluidität. Sie ermöglicht dir, dich mühelos und kontinuierlich zu bewegen und dabei Stärke, Kraft und Ausdauer zu entwickeln.


Integrale Bewegung ist deine Ganzheit, die sich bewegt, fließt und wächst wie ein Fluss. Hier wird auch die soziale und kulturelle Bewegungs-Entwicklung nachvollzogen: einerseits im Ausdruck, in der Geste, im Tanz; andererseits vom Spiel über den Kampf hin zur Kampfkunst. Bewegung, Empfindung, Zustand und Interpretation bilden ein differenzierbares, aber untrennbares Ganzes. Integrale Bewegung löst die scheinbaren Trennungen oder Reduktionen von Körper und Geist auf und lässt dich erleben, wie ungetrennt du bist.

Köbi-Dynamik

Köbi-Dynamik

Natürliche Bewegung entfaltet sich durch Expansion und Kontraktion, oder differenzierter, durch einen Prozess des Zentrierens, Öffnens, Ausweitens, Verschmelzens und Integrierens. Wir nennen diesen Prozess die Köbi-Dynamik (coebi).


Kultivations-Dynamik

Integrale Bewegung wird durch Wahrnehmung kultiviert, durch einen Prozess des Beobachtens und Empfindens, Differenzierens und Integrieres und des Subtilisierens und Verwesentlichens. Wir nennen dies die Kultivationsdynamik.

Beide Dynamiken bilden zusammen ein Ganzes ohne Hierarchie. Wir nennen es Integraldynamik (siehe auch das Buch). Das größere Stück im Kuchen? Integrieren, da Integration in beiden Dynamiken vorkommt.


Kultivations-Dynamik

Integration

auf allen Ebenen

Natürliche Bewegung entfaltet die Funktionalität deines Körpers und deiner Bewegungen. Integrale Bewegung entfaltet den Sinn deines Seins und die Bedeutung deines Lebens.

Beide Bewegungen verbinden. Natürliche Bewegung verbindet die verschiedenen Körperteile zu einer starken Struktur und kraftvollen Bewegung. Integrale Bewegung verbindet alle Aspekte deines Seins in einen kohärenten Prozess, der sich mit anderen und der Welt verbindet.


PLAY
PLAY

Wir arbeiten in vier Quadranten

RIVERS RIDDLES
Bewegungs-Rätsel für Neuroplastizität und phenotypische Plastizität (die Formbarkeit des Gehirns und des Körpers)

RIVERS BASE
Kurze Bewegungs-Abläufe und Flows mit gezielter Wirkung auf Körper und Wahrnehmung

RHYTHM
Neben der Köbi- und der Kultivations-Dynamik arbeiten wir mit weiteren Dynamiken. Mehr dazu im Buch der Bewegung

PLAY
Partner-Settings, Lernfelder und Impulse zur Förderung strukturierter Spontaneität und Diversität in der Bewegung

Noch nicht genug?

Was unterscheidet RIVERS von anderen zeitgenössischen Bewegungs-Methoden?

RIVERS ist aus mehr als dreißig Jahren Erfahrung gewachsen. Das ist schon einmal ein Unterschied zu vielen schnelllebigen Methoden und Trends.
Von anderen seriösen Methoden unterscheidet sich RIVERS durch die Methodik. Wir arbeiten mit den zehn Verben der Köbi- und der Kultivations-Dynamik. Diese geben uns und allen RIVERS-Bewegten sowohl einen extrem klaren Rahmen, als auch die maximale Freiheit der individuellen Bewegungs-Erforschung und -Entfaltung.
Denn entweder wird Bewegung in einem nicht-spezialisierten Feld schnell einmal beliebig und man bleibt nicht weit des Einsteiger-Niveaus stehen, oder man spezialisiert sich dann eben doch wieder, wenn auch unbemerkt.

Niemand kommt mit einem universellen Angebot daher, auch wenn es so verkauft wird. Denn man kommt immer aus einer bestimmten Perspektive. Und sei sie noch so universell, es ist eine Perspektive, eine Positionierung, ein Hintergrund. Es geht nicht, «reine Bewegung» zu vermitteln. Es ist immer eine Auswahl, ein Stil. Wie in jeder Methode wird auch hier durch eine bestimmte Fragestellung in einem bestimmten Kontext für einen bestimmten Kontext selektioniert.
Darum unterscheiden wir zwischen Methodik und Methode. Die Methodik ist die Integraldynamik und wird kurz und gut mit 10 Verben beschrieben: zentrieren, öffnen, weiten, vernetzen, integrieren, beobachten, empfinden, differenzieren, subtilisieren, verwesentlichen. Da die Integraldynamik eine Dynamik beschreibt, aber keine konkrete Form und Inhalte vorgibt, kann sie sich jederzeit und überall anders ausgestalten (auch außerhalb der Bewegungs-Praxis). Das ist der Vorteil. Der Nachteil ist, dass sie keine konkreten Formen und Inhalte bietet und so diejenigen, die noch über kein Bewegungs-Repertoire und Techniken verfügen, überfordert.
Hier kommt RIVERS ins Spiel, die Methode, welche möglichst intelligente Impulse in verschiedenen Formen (Bewegungsabläufe, Flows, Lernfelder etc.) liefert, um Kompetenzen zu fördern und ein Repertoire aufzubauen. RIVERS ist ganz klar ein Kind seiner Zeit, basierend auf führenden Erkenntnissen als auch auf den persönlichen Bewegungs-Hintergründen, Bewegungs- und Körper-Typen von Martin und Katrin. So weit diese auch sind, sie sind immer noch eine Selektion. Auch wenn wir immer wieder darauf hin arbeiten, die eigene Bewegung zu finden und zu kultivieren und dazu auch offene Lernfelder einsetzen, müssen wir doch auch mit Bewegungen arbeiten, die wir vorgeben, um das Bewegungsspektrum zu weiten oder bestimmte Aspekte gezielt zu kultivieren. Dies geschieht in der Dreiheit imitieren – integrieren – innovieren, die in der Integraldynamik beschrieben wird (siehe das Buch Integraldynamik).
RIVERS ist sowohl in sich gültig als auch Hinführung zur Integraldynamik, und während letztere durchaus «universal» genannt werden könnte, was wir jedoch nicht tun, sind wir so realistisch, nicht den Anspruch zu haben, «reine Bewegung» anbieten zu wollen. Deshalb heißt RIVERS RIVERS (und die Praktizierenden nennen wir manchmal spielerisch auch RIVERS) und nicht einfach «Bewegung». Dieser Realismus ist auch ein Unterschied zu gewissen anderen Bewegungs-Methoden.

Komplexe Systeme wie Bewegung erfordern eine echte Einfachheit in der Herangehensweise, die nicht vereinfacht, reduziert oder verfälscht, sondern welche diese Komplexität voll entfaltet. Dies bieten uns die zehn Verben und ihre Verben-Familien (siehe Buch der Bewegung und Integraldynamik).
Wir erheben zusätzlich den Anspruch, auf der Höhe der Zeit zu sein. Wir bleiben offen und differenzieren. Wir halten uns über Forschungen auf dem Laufenden und inkorporieren relevante Ergebnisse.

RIVERS und traditionelle Bewegungs-Wege
RIVERS Mab

RIVERS ist in der Tat die nächste Generation der Bewegungs-Praxis. Und zwar aus folgenden Gründen:

Wir werden, was wir praktizieren. Wissenschaftler des Max Planck-Institus haben das in Forschungen deutlich aufgezeigt. Unsere Neuroplastizität (und phenotypische Plastizität) wird von der Praxis geformt. Wir werden von unserer Praxis geformt. Eingeschränkte Methoden formen vielleicht neue neuroplastische Wege und Formen, doch eben nur eingeschränkt. Je vielseitiger die Methode, desto vielseitigere, vernetztere, agilere Menschen werden wir. RIVERS ist mit Sicherheit eine der umfassendsten Bewegungs-Methoden überhaupt.

Traditionelle Praktiken spezialisieren, moderne Praktiken spezialisieren ebenso. RIVERS hebt die Spezialisierung auf (aber nicht die Differenzierungen der Spezialisierung). Damit werden willkürliche Einschränkungen in Bezug auf unsere Bewegungen aufgehoben. Nicht spezialisieren und reduzieren stehen im Vordergrund, sondern weiten und variieren. Damit dies nicht beliebig wird und eine optimale Praxis-Struktur gewährleistet ist, braucht es ein klares, fundiertes Konzept auf der Höhe der Zeit. Ein differenziertes System, das Differenzierung fördert. Das ist RIVERS.

Spezialisierte Methoden sind nur in sich selbst gültig. Traditionen sind beschwert. Sie sind auf der Grundlage von Philosophien und Bewusstseins-Strukturen entstanden und zusätzlich durch die Jahrtausende verwässert oder verkompliziert worden. Traditionen sind männlich geprägt und basieren auf einer dualistischen Weltanschauung. Selbst wenn sie diese Dualismen zu überwinden versuchen, machen sie dies mehr oder weniger offensichtlich in einer Reduktion auf ein Eines. (Monismus. Selbst die wissenschaftliche Suche nach einer Weltformel ist Ausdruck desselben Monismus.) RIVERS ist leicht. RIVERS hat kein metaphysisches System. Die Methodik hat aber klare Strukturen, welche die Erfahrung und Interpretation von Umfassenderem ermöglichen.
Als Kind unserer Zeit entspringt RIVERS unmittelbar einem integralen Bewusstsein, wogegen Traditionen ihre Wurzeln in archaischen, magischen, mythischen Bewusstseinsstrukturen haben (und zum Teil immer noch so funktionieren, oder eben auf dieser Grundlage, die nicht erneuert wird, nicht mehr funktionieren). Das integrale Bewusstsein zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass es die Vernetzung der Dinge sieht und fördert, ohne diese Dinge dafür auf einen gemeinsamen Nenner einebnen zu müssen (wie es der Pluralismus der Postmoderne tut). Widersprüche sind in diesem Bewusstsein nicht Konflikte, sondern setzen Wachstums-Potenziale frei.

Zu der dualistischen Weltanschauung gehört die Trennung von Körper und Geist. RIVERS überwindet diese Trennung, indem wir Einzelnes als Teile des Ganzen erfahren, welches sich nicht auf etwas reduzieren lässt. Anders gesagt erfahren wir Körper und Geist als verschiedene Gestalten desselben, wenn man sie aus verschiedenen Perspektiven betrachtet. RIVERS ist zwar eine Bewegungs-Methode, aber damit auch immer ein Wahrnehmungs-Training. Der Dualismus, der die letzten 2500 Jahre geprägt hat, wird durch eine neue Form von Erfahrungs-Möglichkeiten aufgehoben und in eine neue Art der Wahrnehmung überführt.

Zu der modernen Weltanschauung gehört die Trennung von Kunst und Therapie, Spiel und Spiritualität, Erholung und Welt. Für eine Schamanin alter Zeit war Kunst und Therapie noch ungetrennt, beziehungsweise ihre ganzheitliche Methode war nicht in zwei Methoden aufgeteilt. RIVERS hebt Trennungen von Kunst und Weg, innen und außen, Therapie und Kreativität auf. Denn diese Einschränkungen sind nicht in der Bewegung selbst angelegt. Sie sind nicht im Menschen angelegt, sondern in äußeren Systemen.